God: Scripture and questions for Sunday, Sept. 29

Exodus 3:1-15—Moses at the Burning Bush
Moses was keeping the flock of his father-in-law Jethro, the priest of Midian; he led his flock beyond the wilderness, and came to Horeb, the mountain of God. There the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a flame of fire out of a bush; he looked, and the bush was blazing, yet it was not consumed. Then Moses said, “I must turn aside and look at this great sight, and see why the bush is not burned up.” When the Lord saw that he had turned aside to see, God called to him out of the bush, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” Then he said, “Come no closer! Remove the sandals from your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground.” He said further, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” And Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look at God.

Then the Lord said, “I have observed the misery of my people who are in Egypt; I have heard their cry on account of their taskmasters. Indeed, I know their sufferings, and I have come down to deliver them from the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land to a good and broad land, a land flowing with milk and honey, to the country of the Canaanites, the Hittites, the Amorites, the Perizzites, the Hivites, and the Jebusites. The cry of the Israelites has now come to me; I have also seen how the Egyptians oppress them. So come, I will send you to Pharaoh to bring my people, the Israelites, out of Egypt.” But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?” He said, “I will be with you; and this shall be the sign for you that it is I who sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall worship God on this mountain.”

But Moses said to God, “If I come to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your ancestors has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ what shall I say to them?” God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” He said further, “Thus you shall say to the Israelites, ‘I am has sent me to you.’” God also said to Moses, “Thus you shall say to the Israelites, ‘The Lord the God of your ancestors, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you’:
This is my name for ever,
and this my title for all generations.”

Acts 17:22-29—Paul at the Areopagus
Then Paul stood in front of the Areopagus and said, “Athenians, I see how extremely religious you are in every way. For as I went through the city and looked carefully at the objects of your worship, I found among them an altar with the inscription, ‘To an unknown god.’ What therefore you worship as unknown, this I proclaim to you. The God who made the world and everything in it, he who is Lord of heaven and earth, does not live in shrines made by human hands, nor is he served by human hands, as though he needed anything, since he himself gives to all mortals life and breath and all things. From one ancestor he made all nations to inhabit the whole earth, and he allotted the times of their existence and the boundaries of the places where they would live, so that they would search for God* and perhaps grope for him and find him—though indeed he is not far from each one of us. For ‘In him we live and move and have our being’; as even some of your own poets have said,
‘For we too are his offspring.’
Since we are God’s offspring, we ought not to think that the deity is like gold, or silver, or stone, an image formed by the art and imagination of mortals.”

Comment:
In our passage from Exodus, we find Moses encountering God in the burning bush. This is a passage of such iconic power that it may be difficult to read without bringing to it all sorts of preconceptions. Nevertheless, it is worth the effort to try to come to the passage as though you had never heard it before (or had never watched Charlton Heston in The Ten Commandments!). The focus of the text is on God as one who responds to people’s suffering and who uses human agents (in this case, Moses) to do the divine will. The passage ends with the sharing of God’s enigmatic name, YHWH (“Yahweh”) which has variously been translated as “I am who I am.” Or “I will be who I will be.”

The passage from Acts finds the Apostle Paul in Athens, where he is sharing his faith with the people there—Gentiles whose religious practices and beliefs are very eclectic. As an illustration, he points to a monument that is inscribed “To an unknown God,” and he says, “What you worship as unknown I now proclaim to you.” In both passages, then, the nature of God is being explored.

Questions:
How has your understanding of God changed in the last 10 years? Since your childhood?

Has God ever “spoken” to you? How? What were the circumstances? How did it feel?

For you, what is the relationship of Jesus to God?

JimG_preferred
Rev. Dr. James Gertmenian, Senior Minister

About PlymouthSpirit

Plymouth Congregational Church is a progressive faith community grounded in the Christian tradition. We are spiritual, loving, relevant and transforming.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Enrichment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God: Scripture and questions for Sunday, Sept. 29

  1. joanmjsmiley says:

    Questions:
    How has your understanding of God changed in the last 10 years? Since your childhood?

    Certainly my understanding of God has changed since my childhood. God, as I understood then, was the reason for life, He was all good, all knowing, and all powerful. My answer was then informed by the Catholic catechism. Now, God is so often brought into our prayers and hopes for each individual and for all humanity (peoples, communities, nations and our planet). The power/presence of God as a request for God’s blessing is sought frequently in the closing statements of our government leaders, “God bless you and God bless America”. We may understand this closing to be a way of asking for divine protection/guidance as in: “may it be so.

    I have found a relationship with God that is founded on trust, guidance, a sense of protection (though I must be responsible and careful), and patience as I seek to live with care and concern for my family, my community, the environment, and with compassion for people experiencing want and suffering, people who know living as a matter of survival, not of comfort or freedom to pursue happiness.

    Has God ever “spoken” to you? How? What were the circumstances?
    My awareness of God is through discovery of integrity of purpose, respect for people who are striving to live in right relationship to God i.e.the divine presence as made known by Jesus Christ.

    For you, what is the relationship of Jesus to God?
    I believe that Jesus grew up learning of God and the importance of seeking an awareness of God while honoring the truths discovered within the Jewish faith. It appears to me, however, that Jesus had an understanding of God and God’s relationship to and with people that asked for a more personal commitment of action–greater care for others and an appreciation for the goodness possible when love of one another permeates the way an individual lived.

Leave a Reply

