Confirmation Sunday: Scripture and questions

Proverbs 22 (selected verses)
A good name is to be chosen rather than great riches,
and favor is better than silver or gold.
The rich and the poor have this in common:
the Creator is the maker of them all.
The clever see danger and hide;
but the naive go on, and suffer for it.
The reward for humility and respect for the Creator
brings wealth and honor and life.

Train children in the right way,
and when they grow old, they will not stray.
Those who are generous are blessed,
for they share their bread with the poor.
Those who value loving hearts and nurturing words
will have powerful people as friends.
The eyes of the Almighty keeps watch over knowledge,
and overthrows the words of the faithless.

Pay attention to the words of the wise:
Incline your ear and hear my words,
and apply your mind to my teaching;
for it will be pleasant if you keep them within you,
if all of them are ready on your lips.
So that you will have complete trust in your Creator,
I have made them known to you today—yes, to you.
_______________________________________________
This Sunday is Confirmation Sunday. We will be hearing some excerpts of the student’s Statement of Faith papers.

1. If you were asked to write a paper about your faith, what would you write?

2. In relation to the scripture text from Proverbs, what do you think are the teachings that should be passed on to future generations?

Paula Northwood
Minister for Education

About PlymouthSpirit

Plymouth Congregational Church is a progressive faith community grounded in the Christian tradition. We are spiritual, loving, relevant and transforming.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Enrichment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confirmation Sunday: Scripture and questions

  1. Hazel Lutz says:

    1. If you were asked to write a paper about your faith, what would you write?

    MY RESPONSE:
    I don’t experience God as a human-like power, intending good or punishment for people in accordance with their behaviors.

    Rather, for me God is the place where people come together. It’s also where people negotiate how we are to come together. We do this negotiation through our discussion of who/what God is and what God demands of or does for us. Without God, we are isolated and separate individuals. Conversely without each other, we cannot know God.

    God is also the place where my knowledge ends and my questioning begins. When I live life as a know-it-all, I am alone and isolated. My relationships with others take on thecharacter of an intellectual bully. I need to be open to learning from others—not just from those with whom I agree and people I like, but learning even from those individuals I dislike or with whom I angrily disagree. It is through all these varieties of people that I can start to understand life and God. Without each other, we cannot know God.

    God is the place where my control over my own life ends and I need to ask for help through difficult times. By asking others for help, and in turn offering help to others in need, I connect with God, and understand God better, and live a happier life.

    God is the liminal place between my usual path and the unexpected closed or opening doors that becken to me or perhaps scare or threaten me. In my fear of the unknown and in new untested possibilities I feel God’s presence. If I stick solely to the known and familiar paths my life has taken, I will miss the experience of God. God is the fear and excitement I experience in life.

    God is the place where I experience joy in life and in the world, in the universe, and in people around me. God is the place I go to experience and celebrate beauty and life. I thank God for it.

    2. In relation to the scripture text from Proverbs, what do you think are the teachings that should be passed on to future generations?

    MY RESPONSE: Put your faith in people, not things. Enjoy building/making things, not owning them.

Leave a Reply

